montana vehicle registration
Make sure you have an active car insurance policy when registering your vehicle. Car registration services for service members of the military who are stationed in Montana are somewhat different. The Vehicle Services Bureau regulates the titling and registration of motor vehicles. Compare rates and buy your policy online: Open the Insurance Center >>. Driving with an expired car registration is illegal in Montana. If you are a service member who is a resident of another state but currently stationed in Montana, you do not need to register your vehicle in Montana and will have to renew your registration through your home state. MVD also offers veterans a designation that can be added to any Montana credential & special license plate options. List of statistics and collected fees for the Motor Vehicle Division. NOTE: You may choose to make a donation to organ donor or traumatic brain injury programs when you renew. Any other periods of time should be multiplied or pro-rated according to the time period for which the vehicle will be registered. Registration Rate, MCA 61-3-321(2)(d) – based on the age of the vehicle, determined by subtracting the model year of the vehicle from the calendar year for which the registration fee is due. This temporary permit allows the driver to legally operate the vehicle while waiting for his or her permanent registration and license plate. Get free quotes from the nation's biggest auto insurance providers. All residents must provide the vehicle title, proof of auto insurance, and payment for various fees and taxes; temporary residents must also provide their current out-of-state vehicle registration. Follow the steps in the Temporary Montana Resident section above. Permanent registration – Under MCA 61-3-321(11)(a), snowmobiles are permanently registered except for those owned by companies that rent snowmobiles. You may apply for a Montana commercial driver license at any driver license station, regardless of where you live in Montana. We support our military and veterans. Additionally, backup documents must be submitted to prove eligibility for obtaining a new registration. Get A Free Insurance Quote. The car registration renewal cost in Montana varies based on the type of vehicle owned by applicants. It must be placed on the rear of the car where the permanent license plate will go. Below you will find the processes outlined for each category of driver. County tax, $6 optional state parks support, special plate fees, (light trucks, the gross vehicle weight (GVW) fees. Drivers should follow the instructions provided on these letters for guidance when applying for registration renewal. To register, visit your County Treasurer's Office and: Both permanent and temporary residents of Montana must register their vehicles with the state. Subscribe to stay in the loop & on the road! We support our military and veterans. Under state law, all motor vehicles including motor homes; motorcycles and quadricycles; travel trailers; utility trailers; all-terrain vehicles; sailboats over 12 feet in length; motorboats, jet skis and other motorized vessels; and snowmobiles must be registered with the state. Reminder: vehicle registrations can be renewed online It is not necessary to renew vehicle registrations in-person … Vehicle registration fees vary by vehicle type, size, age, value, and registration time period. MVD Frequently Asked Questions page! Please check your inbox (including spam box). Title fees are required. That’s why we’re located in Flathead County, Montana. Tougher Fuel-Efficiency Standards for Trucks Proposed in the U.S. How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana. Regardless of whether drivers in Montana choose to renew vehicle registrations online, by mail or in person, they will need to submit specific information. Non-Residents: Under MCA 61-3-701 through 704, non-residents who are gainfully employed in Montana must present their current out-of-state vehicle registration to the county treasurer’s office. © 1999 - 2020 DMV.ORG. To ensure we can process your transaction, please bring all required documents. All of MVD’s Online Services in one easy-to-use list. Temporary residents of Montana will be issued license plates for their vehicle. If the bureau does not have a security interest/lien release on file, the title is returned to the owner with a letter asking to have the title returned along with a security interest/lien release. Otherwise, you're responsible for the titling and registration of the vehicle, which takes place at the same time. Permanent registration does not transfer with the motor home when there is a change of ownership. Montana Car Registration Fees. The registration of a motor home expires 12 months from the month in which it was first registered. Complete the following steps to receive car registration renewal documents in the state: When the DMV office has approved your request, you will be sent new registration documents through the mail. See the county treasurer to correct any errors. If you are purchasing a new or used boat, sailboat or personal watercraft, your local county treasurer’s office can issue all of the required validation decals. Keep reading for more important information about how to register a vehicle in Montana. Be prepared to pay title and security interest/lien filing fees. This page offers services available for active-duty military personnel, such as waivers and reduced fees. If the driver is requesting a specialty plate, more time is necessary. Tougher Fuel-Efficiency Standards for Trucks Proposed in the U.S. You must renew your vehicle registration on or before the last day of the month following the month your registration expires, as indicated on your Montana registration document. NOTE: If you did not receive your MT registration renewal notice, you should renew your registration in person and contact the Montana MVD to find out why you weren't sent your notice. Details about the online, mail and in person renewal procedures are available on these notices. Required Decals – To comply with both state and federal laws, Montana boaters need to display: If your boat, sailboat or personal watercraft is already permanently registered, contact your local Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks office for information on how to get the required validation decals, or go online to FWP’s Register Boats page. Montana vehicle registration is done on the county level. If you purchase a vehicle from someone and no record of the title can be found, you may apply for a bonded title in accordance with MCA 61-3-208. All registration takes place at your local county treasurer’s office. It will differ depending on: For a full list of registration renewal fees, visit the Montana Department of Justice website. Drivers who qualify for certain exemptions cannot renew registration via the online procedure. Additionally, residents should complete the steps before the expiration date stated on their official registration documents. All other MT registration fees (excluding the license fee for each 12-month period). Registration fees do not include special plate fees for personalized plates and specialty plates, or other miscellaneous fees. Instead, all motorists are required to pay car registration fees and submit the necessary paperwork in person at their nearest county tax office. Looking for information on REAL ID? Civilian Montana residents currently living outside the state are required to follow the same renewal procedures in place for all Montana residents. An antique vehicle registration is needed for cars that are considered antique vehicles, such as pioneer and vintage cars. If they are gainfully employed outside those duties, they must title and register their vehicles in Montana. Waiver of $6 for Use of Montana State Parks and Fishing Access Sites, How to Renew Your MT Vehicle Registration. Fees below will include the 3% Administrative Fee when transaction is conducted. Overall, these applicants do not need to request an MT registration or title, but can if they desire to do so. NOTE: Other vehicle types have separate registration requirements, including snowmobiles, recreational vehicles, and custom-built cars. State By State: Differences In How States Handle Driver’s License Renewals, Washington State Passes New Distracted Driving Law That Bans Holding a Cellphone While Driving. Contact the Vehicle Services Bureau with the Vehicle Identification Number and the registered owner’s name and address. The Motor Vehicle Division collects customer identification numbers from businesses during titling and registration transactions. The key to this process is to register in a county where there isn’t a county option tax. The three stages of VIN inspections that may be required for car registration in Montana are: Vehicle owners cannot complete a request for a Montana car registration online like they may be able to do in other states. Temporary registration permits can be provided by licensed car dealers to owners of newly-purchased vehicles. The Montana license plate must be displayed along with the license plate of the owner's home state. You can choose 12-month or 24-month registration, or you can register your vehicle quarterly if you are working or staying for a short time period. The single permanent decal for off-highway vehicles is white and includes the abbreviation “PERM”. Should the owner wish to have a new title issued without the security interest showing, the owner must send the original title and $10.30 (U.S. funds only) to the Vehicle Services Bureau. The county clerk may ask you to complete a. The Montana Motor Vehicle Division processes registration renewals: If your light vehicle is 11 years old or older, you have the option to renew your registration permanently. Transactions are not processed after 4:30 p.m. The VSB has three different stages of VIN inspections that are required for vehicle owners in different situations. Mail the form to the secured party, asking that your out-of-state title be released to your county treasurer’s office. The MVD online system will indicate how much you will need to pay. Specific eligibility requirements must be met in order for requests to be approved by the Motor Vehicle Division. To ensure we can process your transaction, please bring all required documents. Multiple transactions need to be received by 4:00 p.m. Any transaction not completed by 4:30 can be placed in regular workflow or brought back the next day. If you're renewing vehicle registration for your light vehicle, you will be charged a $6 state parks fee automatically. Non-residents may choose to register by the calendar quarter. Value as determined by the NADA guide and corresponding bond. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed office locations, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. However, if you are gainfully employed in MT outside of your military duties, you will need to register your car in Montana. Online renewal is available up to one month before registration documents expire. Drivers should ensure that addresses on file with the state-licensing agency are up to date. Application for Replacement Certificate of Title, Vehicle Identification Number Inspection Certificate, Boats, Personal Watercraft and Motorized Pontoons, Light Vehicles (cars, vans, pickups & SUVs). You would like to apply for a new license plate. Residents can choose whether to update their registration every 12 or 24 months. Security interests on newly purchased vehicles or vehicles new to Montana are filed at the county treasurer’s office. The steps to successfully receive new registration documents in Montana include the following: After successfully renewing your registration, you will receive your updated documents by mail. Mail the completed form and a $10.30 fee for all motor vehicles, including boats and trailers, to the, Proof of ownership, for example, notarized bill-of-sale, cancelled check, purchase invoice, Include the circumstances through which you acquired ownership, This value is determined through the National Appraisal Guide (NADA) as of January 1 for the year in which you are applying, If the vehicle value is determined to be over $500, obtain a bond equal to the determined value through an insurance company, A copy of the NADA guide showing the vehicle value is required, If the vehicle value is determined to be $500 or less, no bond is required, If a NADA guide is not available for the vehicle, complete Statement of Fact.